

Interlochen, Michigan 285th Program of the 97th Season

*

WORLD YOUTH WIND SYMPHONY

Steven D. Davis, conductor

Saturday, August 3, 2024	7:00pm, Kresge Auditorium
Downey Overture	Oscar Navarro (b. 1981)
The Old Boatman	Florence Price (1887-1953) arr. Dana Perna
Sure-Fire	(b. 1981)
Brad Gemeinhardt, horn soloist	
The Northern Pines	John Philip Sousa (1854-1932)

The audience is requested to remain seated during the playing of the Interlochen Theme.

* * *

For Interlochen Arts Camp faculty bios, please visit our website at interlochen.org/directory/faculty or scan the QR code with your phone's camera.



* *

SECTION FACULTY

Flute—Christopher Chaffee Oboe—Kathleen Carter Bell Clarinet—Sandra Jackson Bassoon—Henry Skolnick Saxophone—Timothy McAllister Horn—Katie Jordan Trumpet—Jan Roller Trombone—Thomas Riccobono Tuba/Euphonium—Chandler Currier Percussion—Jeff Irving

WORLD YOUTH WIND SYMPHONY

Jennifer Hepp, manager Margaret Dultz, librarian

FLUTE

Liz Alsenz, Nev.^ Ariadna Carrillo, Fla. Kalista Kaiser, Ariz. Orli Littmann, Ill. Areli Sanchez, Calif. Catherine Zhang, N.Y.

OBOE

Malcolm Belcher, Texas^ Elizabeth Ha, N.J.** Linda Xu, Canada

CLARINET

Braxen Butler, Okla.**^ Kalvin Rowe, Canada^ Brahin Ahmaddiya, Pa. Ashton Cohan, Calif. Aiden Fawcett, Fla. Yash Mahadkar, Ga. Kenny Mellon, Pa. Evelyn Schmeichel, Texas Suzanne Smith, Ga. Marcus Tsai, Pa. Callam Weatherbee, Mich.

SAXOPHONE

Luke McCartney, Texas**^ Geneva Ruml, N.H. Maaz Shamim, Texas Cole Turney, Tenn.

SAXOPHONE cont.

Philip Williams, Ga.

BASSOON

Mark Wen, Ind.^ Gavriel Carmi, N.Y. Théo Neukomm, N.Y.

TRUMPET

Claire Beaird, Texas[^] Joshua Anderson, Fla. Romero Hunt, Calif. Avery Papador, Canada Jayden Peng, Calif.** Gabe Pierre, Fla.

HORN

Lauren Herman, N.J.^ Reid Allen, Ky. Isabella Craig, Texas Risden Harmon, Ga. Enzo Moscola, Calif. Elizabeth Munoz, Ill. Jacob Wiley, Texas**

TROMBONE

Thomas Leenhouts, Conn.[^] Tai Baldridge, Fla.^{**} Vadim Hettena, Wash. Isabel Linton, Vt. Sam Poffenbarger, Texas

EUPHONIUM

Adam Yastion, N.Y.^ Chase Barrett, Ill.^

TUBA

Ben Posner, N.Y.**^ Tim Cranston, Texas Tipton Lolley, Ky.

DOUBLE BASS

Noah Steele

PERCUSSION

Carlos Sanchez, Venezuela**^ Jack Beardsley, Mass. Cyrus Di, Ill. Isaac Lee, Ga.** Jacob Li, N.J. Emilio De Leon Gabbie Reyna

PIANO

Andrew Boyle

HARP

Margaret Hodes, Mo. Calene Lee, Calif. James Perales, Texas Annabelle Wang, N.C.

The musicians are listed alphabetically after principals.

^ Denotes Principal Chair

** Denotes Fennell Scholar. This merit-based Fennell Scholars Award, named after Interlochen alumnus Frederick Fennell, the world's most distinguished wind conductor, recognizes exceptional high-school musicians in the Wind Ensemble program.

* *

You can ensure the next promising young artist has the opportunity to come to Interlochen by supporting student scholarships. Make your gift to the Interlochen Annual Fund by scanning the QR code included on this page or by visiting www.interlochen.org/giveonline.



Many of our venues are equipped with hearing assistance systems. Please ask one of our ushers if you need assistance connecting. Support for recent upgrades to these systems provided by Michigan Arts and Culture Council; the NEA; Rotary Charities of Traverse City; the Les and Anne Biederman Foundation, Inc.; the Oleson Foundation; and Robert W. Anderson.

In consideration of the performing artists and other patrons, the use of flash photography is not permitted. Federal copyright and licensing rules prohibit the use of video cameras and other recording equipment.

In order to provide a safe and healthy environment, Interlochen maintains a smoke-free and alcohol-free campus. Michigan law prohibits any weapons, including concealed weapons, on Interlochen property because we are an educational campus. Thank you for your cooperation. **www.interlochen.org**